Toshiba Portege 2000 and Debian

I wrote several posts about the Linux support on Toshiba Protege 2000.[1][2][3][4] Actually I’m still using this elegant laptop to write this article now. It turns out Ubuntu has done quite a impressive work to support laptops. After I installed Debian to replace Ubuntu, the function keys stopped working because no ACPI events will be generated by key pressing. I traced acpid, hal and toshiba-acpi module in kernel space trying to solve this, and finally I found out Ubuntu patched toshiba-acpi in their kernel to support Toshiba specific hotkeys. So, right now I’m putting the patch into my Debian kernel source and re-building it. We will see if it works later.

* Update:
The patch works.  Now my debian system could support every hotkey on Protege 2000.

2 thoughts on “Toshiba Portege 2000 and Debian

  1. Hi, I write to see if you could possible help, as I have the same model of computer u had when u wrote this comment. I have recently installed Xubuntu 8.04 in it and to tell u the truth it runs great. I also increased the ram to 512 so it’s running like a new machine altogether, but I’m have a problem with a couple of things and I’m a newbie, so it’s even harder. Here it is:

    1. I am having issues resuming the computer after telling it to SUSPEND
    2. When playing some videos or visualizations (ie. using Totem or Rythmbox) the screen looks funny, as if “ants” running around (can’t really explain what it looks like, but it’s not normal)
    3. when plugging in USB drives it doesn’t mount them automatically (though I’ve told it) and when unplugging an external hard drive it leaves a copy of the name there, so, the next time I plug it in it adds a _ to the name, making other applications fail (ie. music program)
    4. more than i wished i have had to press the power button to shut it off bc it just totally freezes…

    Any ideas? We installed Xubuntu via Netboot, and within windows, and later we deleted that partition, so i’m happily running a 100% linux, but I’d really like to fix this difficulties…

    cheers,

    eduardo.

  2. I’m using Ubuntu 7.10 (gutsy) now and I also cannot suspend. Basically I have given up on that since I don’t use suspend to ram often anyway, just suspend to disk. However I don’t have problem playing videos and musics. Maybe you can try mplayer instead of totem? I have no idea about the mounting problems. I did have the freeze problem before and that’s because the laptop overheat itself. These aren’t very helpful. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

